No Spilt Milk

Mark Connery

6d7b9e13e3cf366be276b865abc0baf1

He slowly burst through the door. The dishes didn’t fall off the table. The other man smiled at him. ‘Do we have a disagreement?’ ‘Let’s solve it before we yell at each other.’ ‘Oh yes please.’ ‘Here’s some of the money I owe you.’ ‘Ok thanks.’ It was a cloudy day.

I drove slowly through town. Maybe I should have a shower. Oh I had one two hours ago. That’d be a waste of water. It hadn’t rained in two days.

I thought about cheeseburgers. And if anyone got in my way I’d say ‘Excuse me, I think you’re in my way.’ A drop of rain fell, as the clouds passed. It was going to be a safe night to drive. It might be easier to walk.

The mailbox on the corner was red — mailbox red. An elderly fellow put an envelope in it and walked away. It was time to find a parking spot. Luckily one was assigned to me at my building. I drove in carefully and locked the doors. I had some band-aids in my pocket along with some chewing gum. Also my keys. Nothing was out of the ordinary.